Book Reviews

Amazon Customer Reviews for “Path of Three Hundred”

Ψ

5.0 out of 5 stars The Power of the Indigo Sea, January 10, 2013
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

Path of Three Hundred: Greg Frucci
Many people often wonder why they are here on earth and what is their purpose in life. Where are they right now? What do I need to focus on and where do I want to be five years from this moment? Who am I and do I really have an identity? Life and where you are going is not always defined or controlled by you unless you make it your own, make it your dream to not let the words and thoughts of others control your destiny or outlook in life. Petah needed to decide whether he was going to live his life with regrets, the fear of the unknown or use his energies to focus on the future and stop being distracted by the past. Living alone, having too much time to think, working in a hardware store and often sent on trips for a meeting planning contracting company called Orthodox, Incorporated. Not working as an architect anymore due to lack of responses to his resume and fewer jobs out there, Petah began to look long an hard at his life and where he wanted to go. Living alone in his house, time to contemplate and think he realized that his “fifty year struggle with Self had consumed his Soul.” He decided he needed to find his “Home” without the influence of others. Working on his portfolio containing 30 years of Art and condensing it into 99 pages in which he incorporated his Architecture and Film Industry he made one last effort to go back to the life he left. Muse is someone close to him and hopefully wanted to help him. Asking if he was ready to do head shots snapped him back to reality making him wonder where his path in life was and where he really wanted to go. So, when the Orthodox called and wanted to send him to Lisbon he did not have to think twice and jumped at the chance. But, although he loved every minute and the sights were amazing he knew when he came back that something in his life had to change. “Fear is the mind killer,” how true. “Fear is the think which keeps Us from living life,” fear is something that is not easy to overcome but if you really want to you can. Fear as the author states needs to be challenged everyday.
Throughout the book we hear the voice of the author expressed in the words of Petah as he sails the seas, searches for his Soul and true self and lives one day at a time trying to find his own inner peace. Would you take off and sail across the Atlantic Ocean to Lisbon to find yourself in a boat called The She that he bought from a close friend and film the entire journey creating a documentary and feature film? Rather than set sail he enlisted the help of several friends whose good intentions often created friction. Petah planned to take his boat The She from North Carolina to Bermuda.
So, needed to ask himself some questions before taking off as most should in this position: Who Am I: I need to define my natural talents and abilities. What Lessons do I want to Learn: What opportunities are out there? What is my purpose in life and how will I overcome the obstacles that I know I will encounter? How will I know when I achieve success?
When going out into the unknown and attempting to do what he was about to do is it to find his True Self or does he have a Death Wish? A friend who listened to his inner most thoughts and his final reflections allowed him to realize that nothing was going to stop him from attaining his goal. Even the negative words of a sailor who claimed his boat The She was not made for the voyage he were about to embark on would not hinder him.” Listen to others, but don’t lose your own Voice.” As he made the final preparations and spoke with the Captain he realized what needed to be done before setting off. Support comes from many different places but one thing rings true and constant is the voice of his friend Muse and their everlasting bond of friendship. Listening to someone and not judging them for actions and thoughts, just how many people can do that? As he sets sail and the images of his friends and land fade away Petah begins the most important journey of self-direction and self-realization of his life.
Throughout his journey he reflects and flashes back on many discussions instructional and informative with Captain Harker a man who was not only his friend and instructor to help him learn how to overcome the hurdle of waves, developing the proper fishing skills and much more. Not everything goes as planned and although Petah the roar of the storm contacted his team back in Masonboro that was descending upon him out yelled you might say the voices that were trying to help him. Remembering his father’s words: Improvise, adapt and overcome: stop being a weakling. He could hear the words coming out of his mouth as he battled the storm alone.
Sometimes when you think you are alone you are not. Allende Tennessee tried to contact Petah and could not. Realizing where his friend’s boat was he realized the gravity of the situation and would stop at nothing to help him. Hoping the Master Chief would have some ships or ship on his friend’s route. As the ship tossed and turned and Petah had to adjust you can hear his voice telling himself not to give up. The reader experiences the entire journey along with him weathering the storm. Just when he thought he was alone a voice comes through and help is on the other end of the radio. Remembering another lesson told to him by Captain Harker, “remember you’re a surfer,” handling the boat and the waves during a storm as if he was surfing. Determined, persistent and not giving up he weathers the storm and remembers these words: ” I have found Home Upon the Indigo Sea!
Life does not always hand Petah a great hand yet remembering the reasons he felt so despondent at the start, the woman who used him and abused their relationship, the storm and its rage but finally realizing the comfort of the Indigo Sea and the amazing bird that came to see him everyday. Almost like an angel watching over him bringing him to safety. One Longtail One flew over him and then contacting Captain Secumptual about the weather. Although alone on the sea he was really never alone except with his thoughts. To truly join him on his journey the reader needs to read Day Six to the East and Day Seven to the East as the Petah is now only 70 miles from Bermuda. Just as he arrives who are these three birds that have been hovering over him and why does he feel there is a message there?
Imagine arriving on the eighth day and describing what he sees but first contacting Bermuda Radio to guide him to where to dock and to customs. Meeting David and Bethany and having them join him on board his ship and learning that notice of his arrival preceded him was quite enlightening. The author then describes Bermuda, the sights, his journey and the people.
Then it’s all over and he decides to fly home and lands at the airport in Masonboro and is greeted by so many friends, interviewed and taken to dinner by others but Muse was not there. But, although he did something amazing, gratifying and definitely more than just courageous, others weighed in on blogs creating negative feedback, remarks and then nothing. But, he missed the Indigo Sea and would he let the words of others bring him down? With the support of the Captain would he consent to become his first mate? Then, he would go back to Bermuda and reclaim his ship and head back for home. Is the past really so distant from your present and why did he think about Muse, Jezebel and Judas on his trip to Bermuda? His days there are described in vivid detail and the end result were lessons learned from a book titled The Pilgrimage.
November 28, 2011 was ten years to the day his father passed at sea. Ready to go and wished the best he was off. The journey is so exciting and the sailing a challenge as the author tells of Petah’s daily journeys until he finally arrives home. Would you speak to the Moon? Would you speak to the sails of your ship? Would you be able to weather another storm? Would the Little She win the race or will the storm? “When challenged,” as he was, ” always sail to three hundred degrees… you will be save on that path.” Three hundred degrees as if in a progression of Souls, he and the Little She went on and just what happens and how the journey ends you need to read it for yourself to experience along with Petah.
Read the poem on page 125 and hear his final thoughts when arriving back home. But, the journeys were not over and he was going to sail to Lisbon but this time he would take his dog Lucky with him and hear his own voice letting him know that The Little She would surely make it.
As an added and inspirational bonus the author includes over 30 poems. One that is quite Memorable is taking the Important Things Slow. The author expresses his journey taking life carefully climbing the mast and then realizing the Peace within one’s soul is connected to our /his actions. Tiny Stars will make you feel as if you are part of the galaxy of stars above and my favorite: I Miss the Indigo Sea. Read it to find out why.
I Believe: “I believe in life, I believe in now, I believe in the future.” I believe that this is one of the most interesting, thought provoking and life changing books that I have had the honor of reviewing in a long time. With the illustrations of Katherine Gerardi the story comes to life in a special and unique way.
Let’s give this book: FIVE MORE GOLDEN SAILS FOR THE SHE ON THE INDIGO SEA

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple Sailor in the Storm of Life, January 8, 2013

Title: Path of Three Hundred Author: Greg Frucci Illustrators: Katherine Gerardi and Greg Frucci Publisher: CreateSpace ISBN: 978-1-4811-6315-6
“Petah quickly turned the boat, steering towards the gateway while his heart pounded with excitement. He looked down at his compass to see his bearing was three hundred degrees. The Voice inside him spoke again …” Greg Frucci writes in his book, “Path of Three Hundred.”
With one hundred and sixty-six pages, this paperback book has a drawing of a flying bird against the cloudy sky on the front cover. The tome is written from the author’s own experience sailing in his thirty foot sailboat from North Carolina to Bermuda and back but written in third person format as a tale. Italicized partial sayings are spread among the pages and the appendix contains over thirty pages of his complete poems. With little profanity, the misuse of punctuation and capitalization often deters from concentrating on the storyline.
In Frucci’s adventure, he writes as Petah, a wistful fifty year old soul searching for his true self as he is tossed to and fro in the sea of life. Working part time for a local hardware store and having recently ended a bad relationship, he leaves his beloved dog with friends as he sails off to the supposed peaceful sunset to find himself en route from Masonboro, North Carolina to Lisbon, Portugal.
Planning an initial six day jaunt to Bermuda, the simple and inexperienced sailor is caught up in a violent gale storm for eighteen hours of forty knot winds and twenty-foot waves where he questions his emotions, fears, negativity, anger and regrets of life choices. While whales in the indigo ocean and three unique birds keep watch over his safe passage, he contemplates relationships, religion and the existence of God. Exhausted and tired, he turns his battered boat into port to reassess life, beliefs and the past.
Months later, Petah flies back to the “island of the Soul in Limbo” to return his cherished boat to her home in America. Hoping the return trip is calmer and uneventful, he not only sees the same birds, but hears strange sounds in the Bermuda Triangle, finds respite in the doldrums and watches dolphins escorting him. But when his autopilot breaks, a mainsail tears, and thunderstorms rage around him, he finds solace in remembering his father’s words, thanks God and his vessel for passage and hears the Voice that guides him to his haven.
With writings and sayings confusing like a turbulent sea at times, the author expresses his angst, acceptance and awe as he searches for the way out of his own darkness when the God of the universe talks to him in a profound way.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bold Adventure, October 25, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

It was an exciting read. Very well written to make the reader feel the strength of the ocean, picture the size of the waves and the challenge of the adventure. After reading the book on my Kindle, I plan to order a copy of the book to view the illustrations in color.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing story, and food for thought, October 19, 2012
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

Two things made me want to read this book: Knowing it was the story of someone’s life changing direction, and knowing that the story was real.
It seems that more and more people are taking stock and asking themselves where they are going (myself included), and the book’s main character Petah is the perfect projection of this for the reader to instantly warm to. He’s the ordinary guy who realises he’s extraordinary, ignoring the haters and taking the leap, doing something amazing with his life that he knows will change him for the better.
As a story, it is a warm and honest insight into the sailor’s mind, an adventure full of unexpected disaster and equally-unexpected good luck. Petah is just as clueless as we are as to what will happen next, and it is written in such a way that the reader will feel an almost painful empathy for him at times – especially when describing the constant lack of sleep.
The descriptions are rich enough to make the reader feel as if they are next to Petah, sailing with him, smelling the same air. Far from being an expanse of nothingness, the story’s open seas carry constant surprises, with no two moments ever being the same. There is some sailing jargon which the reader may have to look up, but it does not dominate the narrative at all, and in fact only served to make me more interested in the subject.
The book works on two levels – as a story and as an inspiration to change. If you’re at a crossroads in life, no doubt you will find yourself smiling as Petah suffers all the same thoughts, feelings and uncertainties. Parts of the story will resonate so closely with where you are now that you will feel as if this story found you at just the right time. It might even make you want to sail.
All in all, being able to tell a good story that actually means something is a rare talent, and this book actually reminded of some of Paulo Coelho’s work. My only gripes would be grammatical (a lot… of ellipses… for example) but none of it in any way detracts from the story, so 5 stars it is. A recommended read for anyone, no matter where they are in life.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, October 8, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

Once in awhile you pick up a book and begin your journey. In the case of this one your journey has many detours and if you allow it, will give you much insight of yourself. It is something that is beyond explanation, this one when I started could not put it down until completion. It brought tears, laughter and even anger. If you are searching for a meaning of why then this is a great beginning to your quest for answers.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Path of Three Hundred, October 5, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)

If you are searching for the meaning of life, the Path of Three Hundred will inspire you. Greg Frucci’s writing style captivates and engages your heart and soul. Passionately he leads you through a personal journey filled with adventure,love,faith and hope. This story is compelling in nature as it deeply reveals what we can endure and overcome.
Path Of Three Hundred

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few pages in and I’m hungry for more., September 24, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

I’m not a male or an architect, never been divorced or sailed my own boat, and I’ve never lived in California, but just a few pages in and I can already relate to the main character. I think many of us can and will. The author, Greg Frucci, has us looking inward at nearly every page and finding the right voice to propel us forward toward new beginnings and renewed purpose. I believe this is going to be one of those books I will continue to go back to skim certain passages, re-read the entire book and recall from memory portions that spoke to me. I can’t wait to read the rest…

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I could not put this book down. What a Journey!, September 23, 2012
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

This book kept my attention 100%. I started it in the afternoon & couldn’t put it down. I went to bed reading it. I woke up several times in the middle of the night to read. I read it in less than 24 hrs. I felt like I was on the journey with him. Can’t wait for another book to come out!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST READ, September 22, 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

THIS IS A BOOK THAT I COULDN’T PUT DOWN. AS I READ IT I COULD LITERALLY FEEL THE WORDS DEEP DOWN IN MY HEART AND SOUL. THERE IS SO MUCH EMOTION AND PASSON IN THIS BOOK. FOR ME IT HELPED OPEN UP SOMETHING THAT HAS GIVEN ME A BREATH OF FRESH AIR AND AN OPPORTUNITY TO SEARCH MY OWNSELF. I HAVE ACTUALLY GONE BACK AND READ IT AGAIN BECAUSE I WANTED TO MAKE SURE I DIDN’T MISS ANYTHING. PATH OF THREE HUNDRED SHOULD BE A MOVIE SO THAT WE CAN ACTUALLY SEE EACH DAY OF HIS JOURNEY AND LIVE IT WITH HIM. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND PATH OF THREE HUNDRED TO EVERYONE. *NOTE: YOU MAY ALSO NEED A BOX OF TISSUES!

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great sailing adventure, September 18, 2012
This review is from: Path Of Three Hundred (Kindle Edition)

Couldn’t put it down, a great sailing adventure, a story of a man’s quest to cross the ocean ALONE, and find himself in the process. Great details of the journey – made you feel like you were there…very authentic.

Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Your thoughts are always welcome...I would Love to hear them :)

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s